The Central Midlands Council of Governments was created by agreement in 1969 as amended in 1977, pursuant to South Carolina Act Number 487 of 1967 as amended by Act Number 363 of 1971, to serve as a regional planning and coordination agent for its members. Board representation is formula based with Newberry County having two citizen appointees and one elected official appointee. Citizen appointees shall serve a term of 3 years. Chairman of County Council shall appoint the elected official.

Board Members
Vina AbramsMinority Citizen RepresentativeExpires 08-06-2025
Karl SeaseElected OfficialExpires 05-31-2027
Walt McLeodCouncil RepresentativeExpires 01-31-2026