# NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL MINUTES JULY 15, 2020

Newberry County Council met on Wednesday, July 15, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, Courthouse Annex, 1309 College Street, Newberry, SC for a regular scheduled meeting.

Notice of the meeting was duly advertised as required by law.

PRESENT: Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman

Kirksey Koon, Vice Chairman

Steve Stockman, Council Member

Scott Cain, Council Member Travis Reeder, Council Member

Dr. Harriett Rucker, Council Member Johnny Mack Scurry, Council Member Wayne Adams. County Administrator Debbie S. Cromer, Finance Director

Taylor Davenport, Legislative Support Specialist

Susan C. Fellers, Clerk to Council

ABSENT: A.J. Tothacer, III, County Attorney

MEDIA: Andrew Wigger, Newberry Observer

Mr. Livingston called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and had the invocation followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

# 1. Additions, Deletions and Adoption of Agenda.

There being no additions or deletions to the Agenda, Mr. Cain moved to adopt the agenda as presented; seconded Mr. Reeder.

Vote was unanimous.

2. Ordinance #06-17-20: An Ordinance to provide for the issuance and sale of not exceeding one million one hundred twenty-five thousand (\$1,125,000) dollars general obligation refunding bonds of Newberry County, South Carolina, to prescribe the purposes for which the proceeds of such obligations shall be expended, to provide for the payment thereof, and other matters relating thereto.

This ordinance provides for the re-issuance of the County's 2018 Bonds, which have no prepayment penalty. Prevailing (lower) interest rates are expected to save the County approximately \$7,500 annually.

#### a. Public Hearing

Motion by Mr. Koon to open public hearing; second by Mr. Stockman

Mr. Livingston declared the public hearing open.

There being no comments from the public, Mr. Livingston declared the public hearing closed.

## b. Third Reading

Motion by Mr. Koon to approve third reading; second by Dr. Rucker.

There being no discussion, Mr. Livingston called for the vote.

Vote was unanimous.

3. Resolution #06-20: A Resolution encouraging that Newberry County citizens and visitors to Newberry County voluntarily wear face coverings and exercise social distancing, in addition to observing other medically recognized preventive measures, to help contain the spread of COVID-19 and related viruses.

This resolution merely asks citizens and visitors for cooperation in containing the spread of COVID-19. Specifically, they are asked to wear face coverings, exercise social distancing, etc. There are no penalties associated with non-compliance.

A copy of this Resolution is attached hereto and incorporated herein.

Motion by Mr. Reeder to adopt Resolution; second by Mr. Koon.

There being no discussion, Mr. Livingston called for the vote.

Vote was unanimous.

## 4. Executive Session (if needed)

No Executive Session needed.

#### 5. Appointments

Mr. Cain recommended the appointment of Christina Henricks (replaces Jason Bishop) to the Planning Commission; second by Mr. Koon.

Vote was unanimous.

Mr. Livingston recommended the appointment of Mike Meetze (replaces Benji Vinson) to the Planning Commission; second Mr. Stockman.

Vote was unanimous.

#### 6. Public Comments

No public comments.

# 7. Comments/Requests from County Administrator.

Mr. Adams had no comments.

# 8. Comments/Requests from Council Members

Mr. Reeder urged everyone to take precautions.

Mr. Koon stated he does a 45 minute cardiac rehab for 45 minutes with a mask and if he can do that, anybody can wear a mask. We have to wear masks and social distance.

## 9. Future Meetings

- a. WKDK Coffee Hour, 7/20/2020, at 9:30 a.m.
- b. Special Called County Council, 7/29/2020, at 7:00 p.m.
- c. Public Works and Planning, 8/17/20, 7:00 p.m.
- d. County Council, 8/19/2020, 7:00 p.m.

County Council will NOT meet the first Wednesday of August (8/5/2020)

## 10.Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Reeder to adjourn.

Mr. Livingston declared the meeting adjourned at 7:09 p.m.

	NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL
	Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman
	Susan C. Fellers, Clerk to Council
APPROVED:	