#### NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL JANUARY 6, 2021

## OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY

Mr. Livingston welcomed guests attending each of the oaths of office ceremonies. Due to Covid, the oath of office was held separately for each incoming County Council Member at the times specified below. The Honorable Gordon Johnson administered the oaths as follows:

Todd Johnson, District 1, at 5:20 p.m. Leslie Hipp, District 5, at 5:30 p.m.

Nick Shealy, District 4, at 5:40 p.m.

Mary C. Arrowood, District 2, at 5:50 p.m. (Mrs. Arrowood was in quarantine due to covid and her oath was administered virtually)

#### NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 6, 2021

Newberry County Council met on Wednesday, January 6, 2021, at 6:00 p.m., in Council Chambers at the Courthouse Annex, 1309 College Street, Newberry, SC, for a regular scheduled meeting.

Notice of the meeting was duly advertised, as required by law.

PRESENT: Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman (District 3) Todd Johnson, Council Member (District 1) Mary Arrowood, Council Member (District 2) (Virtual) Nick Shealy, Council Member (District 4) Les Hipp, Council Member (District 5) Johnny Mack Scurry, Council Member (District 6) Travis Reeder, Council Member (District 7) Wayne Adams, County Administrator A.J. Tothacer, County Attorney Karen Brehmer, Deputy Administrator Debbie S. Cromer, Finance Director Taylor Davenport, Assistant to County Administrator Susan C. Fellers, Clerk to Council (live stream) MEDIA: Andrew Wigger, Newberry Observer

Mr. Livingston called the meeting to order at 6:09 p.m. and determined a quorum was present.

Mr. Livingston had the invocation followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mr. Livingston turned the meeting over to Mr. Tothacer for election of officers.

# 1. ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR 2021

After Mr. Tothacer explained the method of election, he opened the floor for nominations.

Mr. Reeder nominated Mr. Livingston; second by Mr. Scurry.

Mr. Shealy nominated Mr. Hipp; second by Mr. Hipp.

Mr. Scurry moved that nominations come to a close.

Mr. Tothacer advised votes would be taken in the order of nomination and requested that Council vote on Mr. Livingston's nomination first.

Voting for Mr. Livingston as chair for 2021: Council Members Reeder, Scurry, Arrowood, and Johnson. Voting against Mr. Livingston as chair for 2021: Council Members Hipp and Shealy. Mr. Tothacer declared Mr. Livingston to be chair for 2021 by majority vote.

## 2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR FOR 2021

Mr. Tothacer turned the meeting over to Mr. Livingston who used the same method of electing the vice-chair.

Ms. Arrowood nominated Mr. Johnson; second by Mr. Scurry.

Mr. Shealy nominated Mr. Hipp; second by Hipp.

Mr. Hipp moved that nominations come to a close.

Mr. Livingston asked that Council first vote on the nomination of Mr. Johnson. Voting for Mr. Johnson: Council Members Reeder, Scurry, Livingston, Arrowood. Voting against Mr. Johnson's nomination: Council Members Hipp and Shealy. Mr. Livingston declared Mr. Johnson the vice-chair for 2021 by majority vote.

# 3. ADOPTION OF CONSENT AGENDA

Mr. Reeder moved to adopt the Consent Agenda, consisting of minutes of October7 and October 21, 2020, as presented; Seconded by Mr. Scurry. Vote was unanimous.

# 4. ADDITIONS, DELETIONS AND ADOPTION OF AGENDA

There being no additions or deletions to the Agenda, Mr. Reeder moved to adopt the Agenda as presented; Seconded by \_\_\_\_\_\_. Vote was unanimous.

# 5. ORDINANCE #01-01-21: AN ORDINANCE TO AMEND THE BUDGET ORDINANCE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2020-2021, ORDINANCE #04-14-20, TO PROVIDE FOR REVISED REVENUE AND EXPENDITURE. APPROPRIATIONS RELATING TO OPERATING AND CAPITAL PURPOSES OF NEWBERRY COUNTY.

## a. First Reading

Mr. Adams advised that all items in this ordinance concern economic development property acquisition and testing. This amendment will not require additional tax funding. After discussion, Council requested a work session on Monday, January 11, 2021, to discuss this amendment in depth; however, they did agree to proceed with consideration of first reading.

Mr. Shealy moved to approve first reading; seconded by Mr. Reeder. Vote was unanimous.

## 6. APPOINTMENTS

There were no appointments, however, Mr Hipp requested a list of the committees and boards and the persons serving on these as well as any vacancies.

# 7. PUBLIC COMMENTS (BY THOSE WHO SIGNED UP AT THE MEETING)

No comments from the public.

# 8. EXECUTIVE SESSION (IF NEEDED)

No Executive Session needed.

#### 9. COMMENTS/REQUESTS FROM COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

Mr. Adams welcomed the new members to Council.

#### 10. COMMENTS/REQUESTS FROM COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mr. Johnson was thankful to be working with each Council and staff, whom he respects for their hard work.

Mr. Hipp appreciated the support from the staff and looked forward to working with the Council members.

Mr. Scurry looked forward to another great year.

Mr. Shealy looked forward to working with everybody.

Mr. Reeder thanked the staff for bringing us into the 21st century with technology. He looked forward to working with everybody.

Mrs. Arrowood thanked the staff for a smooth transition and for getting the technology up and going so she was able to participate in the meeting tonight. She was excited to be a part of the Council and help the people of Newberry County. She looked forward to working with everybody.

Mr. Livingston congratulated the new members of Council and looked forward to working with each one. Newberry County is on the cutting edge with economic development and technology. He thanked the staff for the transition.

## **11. FUTURE MEETINGS**

Work Session on 1/11/21 at 6:00 p.m. County Council on 1/20/21 at 6:00 p.m. Public Safety and Courts Committee on 1/25/21 at 6:00 p.m. County Council on 2/3/21 at 6:00 p.m.

## 12.ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before Council, Mr. Scurry moved to adjourn; seconded by Mr. Johnson. Vote was unanimous.

Mr. Livingston declared the meeting adjourned at 6:32 p.m.

#### NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL

Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman

Susan C. Fellers, Clerk to Council

Approved:\_\_\_\_\_