
• If you purchase a watercraft from an 

out of state seller and that watercraft 

has never been registered in South 

Carolina, you must contact SCDNR 

first.  You will be billed by the 

Auditor’s Office about 120 days later.  

 

• All marine equipment tax information 

is provided to us by the South Carolina 

Department of Natural Resources.  By 

law, the Auditor’s office is required to 

tax from this information.   Contact the 

Department of Natural Resources at: 

 

326 Little Brooke Ln  

West Columbia, SC 29172 

803-734-3857 

 

• Boat trailers are no longer taxed, 

however, the taxpayer may obtain a 

license tag from the Division of Motor 

Vehicles in order to allow the trailer to 

be pulled across the South Carolina 

state line.  An exempt tax receipt may 

be obtained from the Auditor’s Office. 

 

• All marine equipment, which includes 

boats and motors valued at $500 or less 

is exempt from property taxes. 

 

 

 

      

                    
     If you are active duty military, stationed in 

South Carolina and claim another state as 

your home of record, marine equipment in 

your name may be exempted from 

property taxes.  A current Leave and 

Earning Statement (LES) must be filed 

with the Auditor’s Office. 

   

    You may appeal the value of your marine 

equipment.  Please contact the Auditor’s 

Office for assistance. 

 

                               
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS 

CONCERNING YOUR MARINE 

EQUIPMENT INFORMATION 

 

PLEASE CONTACT 

CHRIS PRINCE 

 

PHONE: 803-321-2105 

FAX: 803-321-2106 

 

EMAIL:  

cprince@newberrycounty.gov 
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Donna W Lominack is the Newberry County 

Auditor.  The Auditor’s office is located in 

the Newberry County Auditor’s and 

Treasurer’s Building located at 1400 Martin 

Street, Newberry SC 29108.   The Auditor 

holds an elected position.  Mrs. Lominack 

was first elected in 2009. 

 

The Auditor’s Office is responsible for 

administering all phases of the taxing and 

appealing process pertaining to ad valorem 

property taxes in accordance with South 

Carolina Laws, to provide accurate and 

timely information and to file for 

reimbursement of all funds due the county.  It 

is the mission of this office to serve the

 taxpayers of Newberry County in an

 efficient and professional manner.  

 You, the taxpayer, are very important 

 to us. This is your office.  If you have

 any question, suggestions or

 comments please contact this office. 

              
 

Property Taxes: 

 

In 1915, South Carolina created the 

property tax on real and personal 

property.  It is a main source of revenue 

for the state and local government, as 

well as public schools.  All residents of 

South Carolina are asked to pay yearly ad 

valorem property taxes on real and 

personal property.  Revenue generated is 

used by local government to provide the 

services in Newberry County. 

 

 
 

Marine Equipment Information: 

 

 

• Effective tax year 2020, all watercrafts 

are taxed in advance on a staggered 12 

month scheduled based on the 

registration month.  Each month the 

County will receive registration 

information from SCDNR on an import 

so that bills may be generated.  For tax 

year 2020 forward, SCDNR will base the 

registration on the month of purchase.  

Current tax bills for boats will include a 

$10 yearly SCNR renewal fee to renew 

the sticker. 

 

• If you purchase a watercraft from a 

private seller with a South Carolina 

title, you will need to start the 

registration process by having a tax bill 

generated with the Auditor’s Office.  Our 

office will need the signed over title and 

your ID.  The bill will be generated based 

on the month of purchase. 

 

• If you purchase a watercraft from a 

dealership, the registration process will 

begin with SCDNR.  After the watercraft 

is title to you, SCDNR will send the 

Auditor’s Office information to create a 

tax bill.   The bill will become due around 

120 days after the registration date.   
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