SC Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

General Information:

Chapter 4, Title 30, South Carolina Code of Laws, also known as the "Freedom of Information Act" (FIOA), sets forth the statutory requirements for public bodies in our state concerning openness in public meetings and the disclosure of public records. The "Quick Facts" below are examples of the information you have the right to know under FOIA. To view a copy of the full Act and its provisions, as well as a "plan English" version of its contents, visit the S.C. Press Association's home page at http://www.scpress.org. (Click on the box labeled FOIA.)

Quick fact – Employees with Annual Compensation of \$50,000 or more

Under Code Section 30-4-40 (a) (6) of the South Carolina Code of Laws, public bodies are required to disclose, upon request, exact compensation levels for persons compensated in annual amounts equal to or greater than \$50,000. Here is a listing, by name, department, and title of Newberry County employees whose compensation is included in this category.

			BASE
<u>NAME</u>	DEPARTMENT	JOB TITLE	<u>SALARY</u>
Wayne Adams	Administration	County Administrator	\$140,536.84
Debbie S. Cromer	Finance	Finance Director	\$87,500.00
A.J. Tothacer, Jr.	Legal Department	County Attorney	\$123,024.20
Richard Farmer	Economic Development	Dir. of Economic Development	\$99,960.12
Mike Pisano	Public Works	Public Works Director	\$73,507.46
Charles Verner	Public Defender	Public Defender	\$66,196.00
Mary C. Arrowood	Assessor's Office	Assessor	\$73,363.68
Karen Lindler-Smith	Treasurer's Office	Treasurer	\$88,445.14
Kelly B. Nobles	Probate Judge's Office	Probate Judge	\$85,629.88
Elizabeth P. Folk	Clerk of Court's Office	Clerk of Court	\$74,638.64
Donna Lominack	Auditor's Office	Auditor	\$90,031.40
James L. Foster	Sheriff's Office	Sheriff	\$113,873.94
Robert Dennis	Sheriff's Office	Major	\$74,216.74
Wesley M. Boland	Sheriff's Office	Colonel	\$85,000.24
Todd A. Johnson	Sheriff's Office	Chief Deputy	\$92,001.00
Tommy Long	Emergency Services	Emergency Svcs Coordinator	\$67,189.98
William Johnson	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$67,719.60
Ervin West	Facilities Management	Director of Facilities Management	\$90,197.12
Ben Chapman	Sheriff's Office	Captain	\$70,140.46
Odell Schumpert	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$64,550.98
Garrett Lominack	Sheriff's Office	Captain	\$68,500.12
Tony Eigner	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,500.20
Michael Stribble	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,500.20
Shawn Carnes	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,000.22
William Claytor	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,000.22

Thomas Miller	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,000.22
Larry Graham Jr.	Sheriff's Office	Lieutenant	\$53,000.22
Karen Brehmer	Administration	Asst to Cnty Admstr/Budget	\$75,000.00
Anne Peters	Planning and Zoning	Zoning Administrator	\$55,908.32
Crystal Waldrop	Procurement	Purchasing Director	\$68,000.00
Gerdi Lake	Recreation	Recreation Director	\$50,956.36
Katherine Cook	Human Resources	Director of Human Resources	\$60,715.00
Daniel Floyd	Sheriff's Office	Captain of Corrections	\$60,000.20
Ronald Powell	Bldg Insp, Plng&Zoning	Dir of Bldg Insp, Plng&Zoning	\$73,865.22
Barry Koon	Magistrate	Central Court	\$66,196.00
Ron Halfacre	Magistrate	Central Court	\$69,196.00
Gordon Johnson	Magistrate	Central Court	\$66,196.00
Georgia Attaway	Assessor's Office	Deputy Assessor	\$50,725.48
Leslie Parnell	Veterans Affairs	Director of VA	\$52,011.18
Shanna Proctor	Registration & Election	Director of Reg&Elect	\$51,752.48

^{*}The County Administrator receives a \$600.00 per month travel allowance.

Quick Fact – County Council Salaries

Under Code Section 30-4-40 (a) (6) of the South Carolina Code of Laws, counties are required to disclose, upon request, exact compensation levels for members of their county councils. Listed below are the names and compensation levels of the members of Newberry County Council. Note that Code Section 4-9-100 of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides that additional compensation may be paid to the council member elected to serve as chairman of the county council. *Newberry County Council annually elects its chair by vote of the council members.

<u>NAME</u>	DISTRICT	<u>SALARY</u>
Scott Cain	1	\$15,000
Steve Stockman	2	\$15,000
Henry H. Livingston, III	3	\$17,700 (Chairman)*
Kirksey Koon	4	\$15,000
Harriet L. Rucker	5	\$15,000
Johnny M. Scurry	6	\$15,000
Travis Reeder	7	\$15,000

^{**}Includes \$1,575 salary supplement reimbursed by the State.

^{***}Includes a mandated \$21,457 salary supplement paid by the State. Includes a \$1,575 salary supplement funded by the County.

^{****}Manages the Sheriff's Office, Jail 911 Communications, 911 Addressing, Victims' Witness, and School Resources. Serves as the County Homeland Security Director and back up to Public Safety. Includes a \$1,575 salary supplement reimbursed by the State.