## **RESOLUTION #15-15**

| STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA | ) | RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING |
|-------------------------|---|---------------------------|
|                         | ) | THE 2015 CHAPIN-NEWBERRY  |
| COUNTY OF NEWBERRY      | ) | AMERICAN LEGION CHAMPIONS |

**WHEREAS**, the 2015 Chapin-Newberry American Legion Post 193 and Post 24 team won the 2015 American Legion World Series in Shelby, North Carolina; and

**WHEREAS**, the Chapin-Newberry team ended their season with a record of 32 wins and only 1 loss, that loss occurring during the World Series; and

**WHEREAS**, this title is the first for a South Carolina team since 1936, and Chapin-Newberry was the first regular season unbeaten team to make it to the World Series since 1963; and

**WHEREAS**, the County wishes to recognize and commend the Chapin-Newberry team for this outstanding accomplishment.

## NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL CONGRATULATES THE CHAPIN-NEWBERRY TEAM AND ITS

MEMBERS: Danton Hyman Kevis Burton Ryne Huggins
Patrick Yoder Josh Haney Sean Riehm
Tristan Smaltz Duncan Crotwell Peyton Spangler

Blake Smith Andrew Livingston Trey Huber
Zack Ziesing Delshun Young Landon Allison
Ryan Stoudemire Justin Hawkins Corey Stone

As well as Coaches Daniel Gregory, David Coats, Anthony Robertson, and Marion Baker; and Manager Rob Livingston.

**AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that this Resolution shall be published in the official minutes of the Newberry County Council and a framed copy presented to the team.

**AND IT IS SO RESOLVED** this 2nd day of September, 2015.

|         | NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL             |
|---------|-------------------------------------|
| By:     |                                     |
| •       | Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman  |
| Attest: |                                     |
|         | Laurie N. Renwick, Clerk to Council |