STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA)	RESOLUTION 08-19 HONORING LAW
)	ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS IN
)	NEWBERRY COUNTY WHO
COUNTY OF NEWBERRY)	DIED IN THE LINE OF DUTY
COUNTY OF NEWBERRY)))	NEWBERRY COUNTY WHO

WHEREAS, in 1962, President John F. Kennedy signed a proclamation which designated May 15 as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the week in which that date falls as Police Week; and

WHEREAS, officers are killed in the line of duty --- one every 58 hours; and

WHEREAS, Newberry County Council desires to recognize those officers who made the ultimate sacrifice with their life while in the line of duty.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL BY PASSAGE OF THIS RESOLUTION HONORS THE MEMORY OF THE SEVEN FALLEN OFFICERS:

LUCIUS M. PLAYER – 1926 -- NEWBERRY COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE WALTER T. LONGSHORE – 1933 – NEWBERRY CITY HEALTH OFFICER G. FOREST KRELL – 1939 -- NEWBERRY POLICE DEPARTMENT WILLIAM EARL EVANS – 1945 – WHITMIRE POLICE DEPARTMENT ROBERT R. GILLIAM – 1945 – WHITMIRE POLICE DEPARTMENT J.D. LIVINGSTON – 1947 -- NEWBERRY POLICE DEPARTMENT LAWRENCE W. BRAGG, III – 1989 -- NEWBERRY COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution shall be published in the official minutes of the Newberry County Council.

NEWDEDDY COUNTY COUNCIL

AND IT IS SO RESOLVED this 19th day of June 2019.

(SEAL)	NEWBERRI COUNTI COUNCIL
BY:	
	Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman
Attest:	
Susan C Fellers Clerk to Counci	 il