STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA)
O7-20 A RESOLUTION HONORING THE
CENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY OF
THE NINETEENTH AMENDMENT'S
RATIFICATION

WHEREAS, the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution provides that "The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex"; and

WHEREAS, the U.S. Congress approved the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States on June 4, 1919; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee became the thirty-sixth and final state needed to ratify the Nineteenth Amendment, thereby adding it to the United States Constitution on August 18, 1920; and

WHEREAS, Frances Sligh became the first woman to register to vote in Newberry County on September 6, 1920; and

WHEREAS, the first women elected to countywide office in Newberry County were Mildred Reeves Harmon and Jeanette Koon Hamm, who began their elected terms of office as Newberry County Clerk of Court and Newberry County Auditor, respectively, in 1967; and

WHEREAS, twelve women have been elected to countywide office in Newberry County, including those who have served variously as Auditor, Clerk of Court, Coroner, Probate Judge, and Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, numerous women have served and continue to serve as elected representatives in our county and municipal governments, as well as on the school board, in Newberry County; and

WHEREAS, approximately 13,000 women in Newberry County are registered to vote, and women now comprise more than half of the registered voters in Newberry County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that women voters, since achieving suffrage one hundred years ago, have made an increasingly profound impact on Newberry County through elective politics. **ADOPTED** by Newberry County Council in a meeting duly assembled in Newberry, South Carolina, this 19th day of August 2020."

NEWBERRY COUNTY COUNCIL

BY:	
Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman	
Attest:	
BY:	
	Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman Attest: